Questions and Answers

What are the GED Tests?

The GED Tests measure the major academic skills and concepts associated with four years of regular high school instruction. They provide an opportunity for persons who have not graduated from high school to earn a high school equivalency diploma.

The GED Tests measure competency in five subject areas: Language Arts-Writing, Social Studies, Science, Language Arts-Reading, and Mathematics.

Who is eligible to take the GED Tests?

Residents of New Mexico. Residency is defined as having a New Mexico (un-expired) driver's license and / or a New Mexico identification card for at least 30 days.  A temporary ID will be accepted with an old driver’s license, or another photo ID. 

Adults 18 years of age or older may test without any special conditions. Special conditions apply to persons who are at least 16 years of age (but have not reached their 18th birthday)

Persons who are not enrolled in an accredited high school.

Those who have not already graduated from an accredited high school nor received a GED high school equivalency diploma.


What documentation is required to take the GED Tests?

When GED candidates register to take the GED Tests, they must provide two forms of identification.  One must be a current photo identification which includes name, address, date of birth, and signature. Acceptable current photo identification includes:

  • New Mexico Driver's License
  • Photo ID cards issued by New Mexico Division of Motor Vehicles
  • Passport
  • Military ID
  • Other forms of national or foreign government ID

The second form of identification must verify the signature.  Acceptable forms include:

  • Social security card
  • Credit card
  • Other cards that have a matching signature

What are the passing scores for a New Mexico State high school diploma and how can they be interpreted?

The GED Diploma is awarded when a candidate receives a score of at least 410 on each of the five tests with an average score of 450 (2250 total points) on all five tests.

The score scales for the GED Tests are referenced to the performance of graduating high school seniors on the GED Tests.

To ensure that scores reflect the performance of contemporary high school seniors, the tests are periodically checked.

Scores range from a minimum of 200 to a maximum of 800 points for each of the five GED Tests.

Only an estimated 60% of high school graduates would pass the GED Tests at the minimum scores of 410 on each test and an average of 450 (2250 total points) on all five tests, according to the 2001 Norming Study.

GED Scores

Test results are expressed as standard scores ranging from 200 to 800.

A successful applicant must achieve a minimum average standard score of 450 (2250 total points) for the combined five tests with no score on any one test less than 410. 

An explanation of results is printed on the back of the transcripts.  High school equivalency diplomas are issued directly to examinees passing the tests.


Writing - 440
Social Studies - 420
Science - 450
Reading - 430
Math - 410
Total = 2150
Results - Non Passing

This person had at least 410 on each test but did not have a total of 2250 points.


Writing - 460
Social Studies - 430
Science - 520
Reading - 470
Math - 440
Total = 2320
Results - Passing

This person had at least 410 on each test and a total of over 2250 points.


Writing - 500
Social Studies - 620
Science - 520
Reading - 480
Math - 400
Total = 2420
Results - Non Passing

This person had the required 2250 total points, but did not have a minimum of 410 on each test.