Special Education Bureau
120 South Federal Place, Room 206 Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: 505-827-1457 Fax: 505-954-0001

Special Education Bureau Staff Directory |

New Mexico Public Education Department
Special Education Bureau
120 South Federal Place, Room 206
Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 827-1457


(505) 954-0001
(505) 827-1469
Management Team

Gabriel Baca
Director of Special Education

  • Director of Special Education


Jacqueline Denton
Deputy Director of Special Education

  • General Supervision

(505) 827-1423

Patricia Hawkins
Fiscal Manager
  • General Fiscal Supervision
  • IDEA Part B Financial Compliance
  • IDEA Part B Budget Management

(505) 827-3599

Education Administrators

Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • State Chartered Charter Schools
  • State Supported Schools

(505) 827-1463

Timothy Crum
Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • State Performance Plan Indicators
  • Section 618 Reporting and STARS

(505) 827-3502

Education Administrator

  • Policies and Procedures
  • Private Schools

(505) 827-1457

Corrine Romero
Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • Dispute Resolution & Correction Action Plans
  • State Complaints

(505) 827-1424

Joanie Roybal Se habla Español
Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Parent Liaison

(505) 827-3506

Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • Low Incidence

(505) 827-1461

Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • Significant Disproportionality
  • Disproportionate Representation

(505) 827-1457

Ida Tewa Speaks Tewa
Education Administrator

  • General Supervision
  • Section 619 Preschool
  • Part C Liaison

(505) 827-1466

Lori Goetz
Education Administrator
  • General Supervision
  • Life Span Transition
(505) 827-1461
Business Operations Specialist & Management Analyst / General Supervision

Kaylock Sellers
Business Operations Specialist

  • State Level Activities Funding
  • Bureau Operations

(505) 827-1459

Andrea Aiello
Management Analyst

  • Data Validation/MOE
  • Parent Survey
Support Staff

Rita Aquino

  • Internal and External Customer Service and Communication
  • Records Management

(505) 827-1457

Eire Spaeth
Executive Secretary and
Administrative Assistant

  • Administrative Support to Director

(505) 827-1458

Other PED Contacts

Anita Curtis
STARS Data Warehouse Adminstrator

Data Collection & Reporting Bureau

(505) 827-6499

Gabe Martinez
Assessment Administrator

Assessment & Accountability Division

(505) 827-6536

Quality Assurance Bureau

Constituent Services

(505) 827-4296

Charter Schools

Charter Schools Division

(505) 827-6909

Fiscal Flowthrough Bureau (505) 827-7353


Education Adminstrator LEA Assignments | Download PDF | Revised 5/22/14
Tim Crum

Academy of Trades and Technology
Albuquerque School of Excellence
Aldo Leopold Charter
Alma d'Arte Charter
Clovis Municipal Schools
Creative Education Prep
Deming Public Schools
International School at Mesa del Sol
Mesa Vista Consolidated Schools
Mission Achievement and Success
New America School - ABQ
North Valley Academy
Penasco Independent Schools
Pojoaque Valley Public Schools
Southwest Intermediate Learning Center
Southwest Primary Learning Center
Southwest Secondary Learning
Springer Municipal Schools
The GREAT Academy
The Learning Community
Tierra Adentro
Corrine Romero

Animas Public Schools
Bloomfield Schools
Carrizozo Municipal Schools
Des Moines Municipal Schools
Espanola Public Schools
Farmington Municipal Schools
Gadsden Independent Schools
Jal Public Schools
La Resolana Leadership Academy
Las Cruces Public Schools
La Tierra Montessori School of the Arts
Lordsburg Municipal Schools
Melrose Public Schools
Portales Municipal Schools
Questa Independent Schools
Red River Valley Academy
Sage Montessori
Silver Consolidated Schools
Soccoro Consolidated Schools
Southwest Aeronautics, Mathematics & Science
T or C Municipal Schools
Joanie Roybal

Alamogordo Public Schools
Albuquerque Institute of Math & Science
Albuquerque Public Schools
Artesia Public Schools
Aztec Municipal Schools
Belen Consolidated Schools
Coral Community Charter
Estancia Municipal Schools
Estancia Valley Classical Academy
Hobbs Municipal Schools
Los Alamos Public Schools
Los Lunas Public Schools
Lovington Municipal Schools
Moriarty-Edgewood Municipal Schools
New Mexico International School
Quemado Independent Schools
Raton Public Schools
Rio Rancho Public Schools
Tatum Municipal Schools
Tucumcari Public Schools
Vaughn Municipal Schools
Wagon Mound Public Schools
Zuni Public Schools
Ida Tewa

Amy Biehl Charter High School
Central Consolidated Schools
Clayton Municipal Schools
Cloudcroft Municipal Schools
Corona Municipal Schools
Dora Municipal Schools
Eunice Municipal Schools
Fort Sumner Municipal Schools
Gallup-McKinley City. Schools
Grady Municipal Schools
Grants-Cibola County Schools
Hatch Valley Public Schools
House Municipal Schools
Jemez Valley Public Schools
Maxwell Municipal Schools
Media Arts Collaborative Charter School
Pecos Independent Schools
Ralph J. Bunche Academy
Ruidoso Municipal Schools
Santa Fe Public Schools
Santa Rosa Consolidated Schools
New Mexico School for the Arts
Taos Academy
Taos Municipal Schools
Tularosa Municipal Schools
Walatowa Charter High School
William W. & Josephine Dorn
Lori Goetz

ASK Academy Bernalillo Public Schools
Capitan Municipal Schools
Carlsbad Municipal Schools
Cobre Consolidated Schools
Cottonwood Classical Prep
Cuba Independent Schools
Dexter Consolidated Schools
Elida Municipal Schools
Floyd Municipal Schools
Gilbert L. Sena Charter High School
Hagerman Municipal Schools
Hondo Valley Public Schools
J Paul Taylor Academy
Lake Arthur Municipal Schools
Las Vegas City Public Schools
Logan Municipal Schools
Loving Municipal Schools
Magdalena Municipal Schools
Mora Independent Schools
Mosquero Municipal Schools
Mountainair Public Schools
New America School - Las Cruces
Roy Municipal Schools
San Jon Municipal Schools
Texico Municipal Schools
West Las Vegas Public Schools
Thomas Lopez

ACE Leadership High School
Albuquerque Sign Language Academy
Anthony Charter School
Cesar Chavez Community School
Chama Valley Indep. Schools
Cien Aguas International
Cimarron Municipal Schools
Dulce Independent Schools
East Mountain High School
Health Leadership High School
Horizon Academy West
Jemez Mountain Public Schools
Juvenile Justice System
La Jicarita Community School
La Promesa Early Learning Center
McCurdy Charter School
Montessori Elementary School
New Mexico Corrections
New Mexico Connections Academy
New Mexico School for the Deaf
New Mexico Visually Blind
Reserve Public Schools
Roswell Independent Schools
Sequoya Adolescent
School of Dreams Academy
South Valley Prep School
Taos Integrated School of the Arts
UNM Children's Psychiatric
Uplift Community School