New Mexico - Public Education Department
Search PED

Office of General Counsel
NM Public Education Department

MISSION AND VALUES STATEMENT

The Office of General Counsel provides legal advice and counsel for the New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED).

MISSION STATEMENT: The NMPED Office of the General Counsel is a team of professionals advancing the mission and objectives of the PED by delivering legal services of the highest quality. We are committed to providing sound judgment, thoughtful analysis, and constructive advice through effective communication. In an environment fostering innovation and the interests of students, parents, guardians and stakeholders, we apply the rule of law with integrity, respect for people, and commitment to excellence and the public trust.

Guidance

VALUES: Integrity, Innovation, Teamwork, Professional Excellence, Effective Communication, Public Service

ATTORNEYS
Daniel Hill, JD
General Counsel 
daniel.hill@state.nm.us  
Albert V. Gonzales, JD
Deputy General Counsel
albertv.gonzales@state.nm.us
Arlene Strumor, JD
Assistant General Counsel
Special Education Attorney
arlene.strumor@state.nm.us
Marsha Zenderman, M.A., JD
Assistant General Counsel
Special Education Attorney
marsha.zenderman@state.nm.us
Gloria Regensberg, JD
Assistant General Counsel
Special Education Attorney
gloria.regensberg@state.nm.us
Dylan Lange, JD
Assistant General Counsel
Licensure Attorney
dylan.lange@state.nm.us
Jennie Lusk, JD
Assistant General Counsel
Special Ed/Federal Programs/Home Schooling
jennie.lusk@state.nm.us
 
INVESTIGATIONS
Brenda Mares
Investigations & School District Audit
brenda.mares@state.nm.us
PARALEGAL
Vacant
SCHOOL DISTRICT AUDIT
John Severns
Accountant Auditor
johnj.severns@state.nm.us
SECURITY AND PRIVACY POLICIES
Family Educational Rights & Privacy Act Regulations (FERPA)
NM PED IT Security Policy
DoIT Security Policy
CONTACT US
Mary Deets
Executive Legal Assistant
300 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM  87501
(505) 827-6641

Standards of Professional Conduct
Licensure Complaint Form
Educator Ethics Complaint Form

Public Rule Hearing Set for Monday, July 29, 2013 on Proposed Amendments to 6.69.8 NMAC
(Teacher and School Leader Effectiveness)
Notice of Proposed RulemakingProposed Amendments

 

The Office of General Counsel Cannot Provide Legal Advice or Assistance to Members of the Public.

If you need information that is not available on the website, contact us at (505) 827-6641 or at Office of General Counsel, Jerry Apodaca Education Building, 300 Don Gaspar Ave. Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786

  Office of the Governor of New Mexico Sunshine Portal US Department of Education Teach NM Ideal NM Score
 
Follow Us on Twitter Search PED